Poem for Cleaning My Dog’s Ears

“Thrashing beast, don’t you

know that we are trying to

help you?  Hold still!  Stop!”

*

“No!  I close my ears

against that foul liquid and

I don’t hear you!  No!

*

Rebel!  Rebel!  Flee!

I will scratch the problem out,

if you’ll just let me!

*

Oh, it’s fine now.  Yes–

I don’t much mind the rubbing–

Finished?  OK.  Thanks!”

*

“Next time, will you be

good, sit still, submit, help us?

We do this for you!”

*

“I’d like a treat now.

I’ll go get my ball.  Wait here.

Here it is!  Here….What?”

humphrey

Leave a Reply

