“Homecoming” – Flash Fiction – Friday Fictioneers

As I’ve been wandering the internet and WordPress, reading short fiction and looking for different writing prompts, I encountered the Friday Fictioneers at Rochelle’s great website.  I’m a bit late in posting, but I loved the photo prompt, so I went for it anyway.  I hope you’ll check out Rochelle’s site!

Untitled

Homecoming

 Jack hadn’t been home in a long time.

His mother went to considerable trouble.  The table was set for dinner hours in advance—in defiance of any plans he might make to flee.

She was out buying fancy food that she’d overcook.

Maybe Jack was a selfish asshole.  It was possible.  His mother thought so.

He looked out the window, trying to decide.  What kept him away?

Everything inside was gray, dark, puritanical.  The geraniums outside were the only hint of joy.

Jack sat down at the empty table, waiting.  Today, he’d be the son she wanted, if he could.

* * *

Original Prompt: https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/01/14/9-january-2015/

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Jan Wayne Fields

I’m not sure I totally understand the InLinkz or that I’m using this correctly, so let’s consider this an experiment…

10 thoughts on ““Homecoming” – Flash Fiction – Friday Fictioneers

  1. Dear Emily,

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. Apparently you’ve linked correctly.

    Intriguing story, although, at times I got a bit confused over whose POV it was.

    Hope to see you around more.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  2. How hard it is to be the son/daughter a parent wants. It really shouldn’t be that way. I like how you’ve shown his desperate desire to please, coupled with his realisation that he is who he is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

