“Threshold” – Friday Fictioneers – Flash Fiction

This was written for Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers challenge.  Check out her blog and click on the blue Inlinkz frog to read other takes on the photo prompt (copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields).

ffporch

Threshold

(98 words)

Catherine’s father waited on the porch.

Jacob clenched and unclenched his fists, approached.

“How is she?”

“Why are you here, son?”

Jacob colored.  “That’s my baby in there, and the woman I love.”

“Not your wife.”

“I’d like her to be.”

The older man leaned on a plantation column.  “Don’t think she feels the same, Jake.  Not that I understand it.  In my day, a wedding was the only way.”

“She said that?  She doesn’t want me?”

“She said…you aren’t reliable.  Wants to depend on herself.”

Jacob shifted.  “Can I see the baby?”

Catherine’s father shrugged.  “Come on.”

22 thoughts on ““Threshold” – Friday Fictioneers – Flash Fiction

  1. I feel like I’ve had a taste of these people – including Catherine, characterised through her father’s eyes – and would like more. The situation calls for more emotion than is being displayed; and it will ‘out’, maybe on the next page. I am going to get hold of your ‘foxy’ tale from Amazon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

