Poem for Grading at the End of the Term

I’ve been neglecting this blog and my writing for the past week and a half or so.  Now, I’m diving back in!

Poem for Grading at the End of the Term

Emails, phone calls,

earnest conversations

after class, after school,

in the hall…

I isolate myself,

surrounded by stacks of essays,

quizzes, and late work.

I fail to remain emotionless,

mourning what might have been,

applauding steps forward,

and documenting,

always documenting.

I see the numbers

(the computer does the math),

and sigh with

relief or frustration.

I might smile or nod,

seeing where students’

paths have led them,

thinking about what to say to them

about moving forward.

At the end of it all, there is a brief respite.

My muscles relax.

I leave the school building, bathed in sun,

looking toward the next term,

but before that,

a break.

One thought on “Poem for Grading at the End of the Term

Leave a Reply

