“Caught Up” – Flash Fiction – Friday Fictioneers

It’s been a busy time, getting back into teaching the last few months and getting the house ready for our baby!  28 weeks and counting…  I haven’t been nearly as diligent about my blog as I’d like, but I’m back to Friday Fictioneers this week, a weekly prompt provided by Rochell Wisoff-Fields on her blog, Addicted to Purple.  You get an image and up to 100 words to tell a story.  Click on the blue frog below to read other stories and to add your own.  If you have time, check out my previous post about Three Line Thursday’s new Light Lines anthology, released this week!

Image copyright Ted Strutz

Image copyright Ted Strutz

Caught Up

(98 words)

I watch all the air riders, strung out into the sky carelessly and spinning.  I shudder.  I’ve had enough of that feeling.

I’m here to get control.  After today, I won’t be a puppet in someone else’s grip.

“Juliet?” a male voice said behind me.

“Yes,” I say, though that isn’t my real name.  “Romeo says he needs the friar.”

Baseball cap pulled down, he pulls a thick envelope from his jacket.  I hand him a different one from my purse, taking his.  We split.

Romeo.  I’ll kill him for involving me in this.  Unless I die first.

12 thoughts on ““Caught Up” – Flash Fiction – Friday Fictioneers

Leave a Reply

