“Legacy” – Flash Fiction for Friday Fictioneers

The following story was written for Friday Fictioneers, the weekly prompt provided by Rochelle on her blog, Addicted to Purple.  We get a photo for inspiration and no more than 100 words to tell a story.  Check out Rochelle’s blog and her impressive writing!  This week’s photo is from J. Hardy Carroll.  Also, if you’d like to read more responses to this prompt, or if you’d like to add your own, click on the blue frog below.

J Hardy Carroll

Photo Prompt copyright J Hardy Carroll

Legacy

(100 words)

Stepping through the doorway into the rampant weeds, I’m a child again, and Dad’s brought me here to explain his childhood.  Trees stretch up toward him now, not stopping to tell any secrets.

I wish I’d paid more attention.

Now, my imagination takes over.  Kitchen, there—bedroom, here.

And the fire started here, where there’s a bare patch in this wilderness.  It’s silly to think nature remembers what I’ve forgotten, but still.  Dad left home after that, another of grandpa’s drunken mistakes.

What about mine?  Would Dad return to the scenes of my betrayals?  Would he find anything worth saving?

21 thoughts on ““Legacy” – Flash Fiction for Friday Fictioneers

  1. I love this. “I wish I’d paid more attention”–I guess that is true for many people when thinking of their parents’ and grandparents’ stories. The narrator seems to be stuck in the middle though, afraid to be a disappointment for Dad, just as the grandfather was.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! Thanks for reading and commenting. I was thinking about that, actually–about trying to remember moments from childhood with those who are no longer with us. She’s definitely in a tough place, and you identified it well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Scenes of my betrayal- gives a lot to wonder and imagine about. The whole piece is open in a clever way as to give space for the reader’s imagination to go wild. Great job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

