“Long Shadows” – Flash Fiction for Friday Fictioneers

This story was written for Friday Fictioneers.  Each week, Rochelle gives us an image and 100 words to tell a story.  She also inspires us with a story of her own.  This week, she included an excerpt from her forthcoming book, As One Must, One Can.  This week’s prompt image comes from Peter Abbey – thanks!  Click on the blue frog below to read more stories that correspond to this prompt and to add your own.

Friday Fictioneers–those of you on Twitter might also like participating in the daily #VSS365 prompt from @FlashDogs!  Tweet a story inspired by the prompt and include the #VSS365 hashtag!

peter-abbey11

Image copyright Peter Abbey

Long Shadows

(99 words)

Hannah walked Josie home using the footbridge over the river.

Hannah pointed at the graffiti.  “From the H-C Gang.  Don’t come here without me—they might get you.”

Josie stared, silent.

“See the chain-link sides?” Hannah added. “They’re to keep people from jumping.”

Josie didn’t understand, but her dreams were full of black paint and people jangling the chain link, trying to get out, to jump.

Years later, Josie stood on the bridge, pulling her sleeves down over her wrists.  She knew there probably hadn’t been an H-C Gang in their little town.  Some dangers, though, were real enough.

15 thoughts on ““Long Shadows” – Flash Fiction for Friday Fictioneers

  1. Dear Emily,

    Perhaps I’m a little dense, but I was lost in the H-C gang. Obviously something ominous and the fact that Josie pulled her sleeves over her wrists had me thinking something bad had happened. Am I warm?

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think my story came across a little muddled this week, and I appreciate your take on it! I was imagining that the gang was a made-up terror from the older girl, but that the suicide danger was real, and though Josie can’t jump with the chain link, she has scars on her wrists that she thinks of when in that spot. So yes–warm! The 100 words continues to be a very good learning experience! I’ll have to have another crack at this one to see if I can clarify it.

      Like

  2. A gripping picture of a tortured soul. I love the reference to unnamed dangers at the end. One can only imagine. Lovely contrast between the imagined or pretend dangers she feared as a child. Very thought-provoking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Sandra–yes, definitely a sad and troubled soul. I think I wasn’t quite clear enough this week in my telling. I was going for her memories of the dangers associated with the bridge–one of which (the gang) was a false danger, and the other (suicide attempts) which she has become familiar with.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad the emotions came through, Dawn. I think my piece lacked some clarity this week, but I appreciate you reading and commenting! I was trying to show her remembering the dangers she was introduced to in her childhood by this older girl, associated with the bridge, and how she has become familiar with the danger of the suicidal thoughts afterward.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

